Congrats to these JEA/NSPA Best of Show winners

Eight Balfour yearbooks won in the Best of Show competition at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C.

Yearbooks competing in the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) Best of Show are judged by professionals, and the award is given for overall excellence among convention attendees. Balfour schools had a total of eight Best of Show yearbooks in three categories. The Best of Show awards were presented at the NSPA awards ceremony on Saturday, November 8 in Washington, D.C.

2014 Yearbook Best of Show

225-274 Pages

5th Place – Best of Show
The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas

6th Place – Best of Show
Belltower, St. Thomas’ Episcopal School, Houston, Texas

275-324 Pages

4th Place – Best of Show
The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas

8th Place – Best of Show
The Black and Gold, Rock Canyon High School, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10th Place – Best of Show
Re-Wa-Ne, Reno High School, Reno, Nevada

325 or More Pages

2nd Place – Best of Show
Indian, Shawnee Mission North HS, Overland Park, Kan.
3rd Place – Best of Show

Cornerstones, Hockaday School, Dallas, Texas
10th Place – Best of Show
Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East HS, Prairie Village, Kan.

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) is a nonprofit organization exclusively for high school and other secondary school publications – newspapers, magazines, broadcast programs, online publications and yearbooks. Since 1921, NSPA has offered members resources to help their publications improve.