Four Balfour university yearbooks named ACP Finalists

The Associated Collegiate Press named four Balfour publications Yearbook Pacemaker Finalists, Wednesday, Feb. 1.

Baylor University, North Carolina State University, Texas Tech University and The University of Miami were four of the 11 colleges selected for their 2016 yearbooks.

A judging committee of five former college editors, who are now journalism professionals or teachers, met in January to select the books. The judges’ criteria included strong design and photography, detailed captions, and campus coverage, as well as relevant community, state and national coverage.

All four publications have received national recognition from ACP in the past. This is Baylor’s second nomination in a row. The Roundup won a Pacemaker for the 2015 book and they were a finalist for the 2009 edition. Texas Tech is a finalist for the third year in a row, and the La Ventana also was a finalist for the 1997, 1999 and 2009 yearbooks. North Carolina State University and The University of Miami have both been finalists 11 years in a row, winning nine Pacemakers for the Agromeck and the Ibis since 2006.

The ACP is a division of the National Scholastic Press Association, a non-profit education association based in Minneapolis.

Winners of ACP’s Pacemaker awards will be announced at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention in Dallas, Oct. 26-29, 2017.