Luck has little to do with it for these 13 finalists


The Columbia Scholastic Press Association released its list of Crown Award finalists for publications published during the 2013-14 academic year. Balfour is both honored and delighted to work with 13 of those schools. The Crown Awards are the highest recognition given by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) for overall excellence in scholastic journalism. Finalists will be revealed as either Gold or Silver Crown awardees in March at CSPA’s 91st annual spring convention in New York City.

The Crown Awards are juried at Columbia by a panel of invited judges. Publications are judged on their excellence in design, photography, concept, coverage and writing. This year a total of more than 1,200 newspapers, magazines, yearbooks and digital publications were eligible for judging. Out of the 1,200 entries, 73 yearbooks were chosen as finalists.

Congratulations to these 2014 Balfour finalists:


Rocky Heights MS-The Nighthawk Yearbook
The Nighthawk, Rocky Heights Middle School, Littleton, CO
Scott Delanson, adviser

Kealing MS-The Vespa Yearbook
The Vespa, Kealing Middle School, Austin, TX
Kristen Scott, adviser

The Hockaday School-Cornerstones Yearbook
Cornerstones, The Hockaday School, Dallas, TX
Ana Rosenthal, adviser

Shawnee Mission East HS-Hauberk Yearbook
Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, KS
Dow Tate, adviser

Memorial HS-Reata Yearbook
Reata, Memorial High School, Houston, TX
Holly Hartman, adviser

St Thomas Episcopal-The Belltower Yearbook
The Belltower, St. Thomas’ Episcopal School, Houston, TX
David Graves, adviser

Shawnee Mission North HS-The Indian Yearbook
The Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, KS
Becky Tate, adviser

McKinney HS-The Lion Yearbook
The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, TX
Lori Oglesbee, adviser

Vista Ridge HS-The Lonestar Yearbook
The Lonestar, Vista Ridge High School, Cedar Park, TX
Jamie Ray, adviser

Little Rock Central HS-The Pix Yearbook
The Pix, Little Rock Central High School, Little Rock, AR
Whitney Leonard, adviser

Granite Bay HS-Ursus Yearbook
Ursus, Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay, CA
Bernadette Cranmer, adviser


NC State Univ-Agromeck Yearbook
Agromeck, N.C. State University, Raleigh, NC
Martha Collins, adviser

University of Miami-Ibis Yearbook
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL
Randy Stano, adviser

After publication of this story, CSPA posted another collegiate finalist:

Baylor University-Round Up Yearbook













Round Up, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Julie Freeman, adviser

The CSPA is an international student press association uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges through educational conferences, idea exchanges and award programs. CSPA is owned and operated by Columbia University since 1925.

For an entire listing of Crown finalists, visit CSPA.