Pacemaker Finalists wow judges with high-quality photojournalism

Pacemaker Finalist_Spines

Fifteen Balfour schools were selected as National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) Yearbook Pacemaker and Associated Collegiate Press (ACP) Pacemaker finalists.

Yearbook Pacemakers are awards for excellence in American student journalism, given annually since 1927. The awards are considered to be the highest national honors in scholastic journalism and are unofficially known as the “Pulitzer Prizes of student journalism.” Being named a Pacemaker finalist is the last step toward winning this prestigious award.

Judges select Yearbook Pacemakers based on the following: coverage and content, quality of writing, design, photography, art and graphics.

This year, high-quality photojournalism and treatment of photography in design were two categories judges said divided Yearbook Pacemaker finalists from the rest.

Judges also indicated that classic elements of quality journalism, such as strong feature copy separated the finalists from other entries. One trend that was clearly evident was a return to classic, structural, grid-based spread design.

Listed below are the 15 Balfour schools and universities receiving finalist honors.

Kealing MS
The Vespa, Kealing Middle School, Austin, TX
Kristen Scott, adviser

Shawnee Mission East HS
Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, KS
Dow Tate, adviser

Memorial HS
Reata, Memorial High School, Houston, TX
Holly Hartman, adviser

Shawnee Mission North HS
The Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, KS
Becky Tate, adviser

Vista Rigde HS
The Lonestar, Vista Ridge High School, Cedar Park, TX
Jamie Ray, adviser

Granite Bay HS
Ursus, Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay, CA
Bernadette Cranmer, adviser

Saugus HS
Sword & Shield, Saugus High School, Saugus, CA
Christina Tolisano, adviser

Rock Canyon HS
The Black & Gold, Rock Canyon High School, Highlands Ranch, CO
Kristi Rathbun, adviser

Rouse HS
Replay, Rouse High School, Leander, TX
Kel Lemons, adviser

Texas HS
The Tiger, Texas High School, Texarkana, TX
Rebecca Potter, adviser

NC State Univ
Agromeck, N.C. State University, Raleigh, NC
Martha Collins, adviser

Univ of Miami
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL
Randy Stano, adviser

James Madison Univ
Bluestone, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA
Kristi Shackelford, adviser

Texas Tech Univ
La Ventana, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX
Andrea Watson, adviser

Texas A&M Univ
Aggieland, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
Bob Wegener, adviser

For an entire listing of NSPA Yearbook Pacemaker finalists, visit NSPA.

NSPA Pacemaker winners will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, April 16-19, 2015 in Denver.

For an entire listing of ACP Yearbook Pacemaker finalists, click here.

ACP Pacemaker winners will be announced at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention in Austin, Texas, October 28-November 1, 2015.