CSPA announces Crown winners, Vista Ridge wins Gold

2022_CSPA Crown Winners_Header

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced the Gold and Silver Crown Winners Friday during a virtual ceremony.

Fourteen Balfour schools were named 2022 Crown Finalists in December. The 12 middle school and high school publications learned Friday of their award. CSPA will present the collegiate winners in a separate broadcast, March 30.

The Crown awards are given annually to the best scholastic publications at the middle school, high school and collegiate level. CSPA judges selected 79 yearbooks as finalists this year, honoring books that showed excellence in writing, design, coverage, theme and photography.

Congratulations to all the CSPA Gold and Silver Crown Winners!


21 Bellaire HS300
Bellaire High School
Adviser Andrea Negri
Editors Evan Zhao, Anna Lo, Hoang Tran, Peyton Richardson & Bryce Liu

21_James Bowie HS cover300
Bowie High School

Lone Star
Adviser Lindsey Shirack
Editors Grace Conlan & Ryan Kinney

21 Bridgeland HS cover300
Bridgeland High School

Adviser Samantha Berry
Editors Cara Hudson & Madison Gunn

21 Claudia Taylor Johnson HS cover300
Claudia Taylor Johnson High School

The Citadel
Adviser Velisa Jewett
Editor Hannah Murphy

21 Leander HS cover300
Leander High School

The Lair
Adviser Lindsie Alley
Editors McKenzie Henningsen

21 McCallum HS cover
McCallum High School

The Knight
Advisers Dave Winter & Jena Weber
Editors Lindsey Plotkin & Hannah Zuniga

21 Katy JHS cover300
Katy Junior High School
Tiger Tracks
Adviser Candice Thomas
Editors Reagan Evans, Aubrey Elston & Lauryn Soeken

21 Memorial HS300
Memorial High School

Adviser Holly Hartman
Editors Sara Beth Rother, Megan Benz & Bailey Zhang

21 Paetow HS300
Paetow High School
Adviser Sara Gonzales

21 Peterson MS300
Peterson Middle School

The Galleon
Adviser Danielle Ash

21 Rock Canyon HS cover300
Rock Canyon High School

Black & Gold
Adviser Kristi Rathbun
Editors Amanda Braucler, Emma Sheldon & Madeline Evans


21 Vista Ridge HS cover300

Vista Ridge High School
The Lonestar
Adviser Jamie Ray
Editors Lycia Poh & Lainey Jones

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!