CSPA names seven Balfour schools 2021 Crown Finalists

Seven schools were named 2021 Crown Finalists by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association recently. Throughout the first week of December, CSPA announced the finalists in print, digital and hybrid publication categories, culminating with the yearbook finalists Friday.

More than 800 digital, newspapers, magazines and yearbooks published during the 2019-20 school year were eligible for judging. The judging panel selected 61 middle school, high school and collegiate yearbook finalists this year.

CSPA dates the awards from the year they are given. The 2021 Crown Finalists will learn in March if they won a Silver or Gold Crown. For the second year in a row, CSPA will announce winners virtually because of COVID restrictions. Congratulations to all the finalists!

20_Bowie cover_Bowie High School
Lone Star
Adviser Lindsey Shirack

Editors Logan Dorsey, Ryan Kinney & Emma Wake
Austin, Texas

20_ESD cover_Episcopal School of Dallas
Adviser Ana Rosenthal
Editors Caroline Massey, Rachel Morrow & Kate Flanagan  
Dallas, Texas


20_Hill Country cover_
Hill Country Christian School
The Bard
Adviser John Horvath
Editor Lauren Innis
Austin, Texas


20_Memorial cover_Memorial High School
Adviser Holly Hartman
Editors Hannah Khairandish, Ava Lahijani & Amanda Neal
Houston, Texas


20_NC State cover_ copyNorth Carolina State University
Adviser Martha Collins
Editor Julia Harrison
Raleigh, North Carolina


Rock CRock Canyon High School
The Black & Gold
Adviser Kristi Rathbun
Editors Kinley Rex & Emma Shea
Highland Ranch, Colorado

20_Vista Ridge cover_Vista Ridge High School
The Lonestar
Adviser Jamie Ray
Editor Mackenzi Steczkowski
Cedar Park, Texas

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!