Five Balfour schools named 2021 NSPA Pacemaker Winners

2021_NSPA_Pacemaker Winners Header1200

The National Scholastic Press Association named five Balfour schools 2021 Pacemaker Winners, April 9. The awards were handed out at the NSPA awards ceremony during the closing of the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in Los Angeles.

Bridgeland High School, Bowie High School, Episcopal School of Dallas, Rock Canyon High School and Vista Ridge High School all received Pacemakers at the ceremony. This was the Kodiak's second Pacemaker win and third year to be a finalist.

“We had so much fun creating this book despite all the challenges,” Bridgeland adviser Samantha Berry said. “I am beyond proud of this staff that innovated and preserved.”

NSPA honors scholastic journalism with Pacemaker Awards in several categories: broadcast, magazine, online, newspaper/newsmagazine and yearbook. A team of judges assess the entries for exceptional coverage, writing, design, photography and theme.

NSPA selected 71 middle school and high school yearbooks as finalists. Balfour schools earned 11 spots on the finalist list, the most in Balfour history. The finalists were honored in the ceremony Thursday.

The award is for yearbooks printed during the 2020-21 school year. This is the first year for Foster High School and Peterson Middle School to be finalist for national awards.

“The staff who created this book are among the finest, most amazing, most creative, most resilient, most beloved of any I’ve ever taught,” Foster adviser Danielle Bell said. “They were determined than in a year that was always ‘Subject to Change,’ that one thing would remain and that was the yearbook. They rose above so much adversity and so many obstacles to give their school a yearbook that captured the experience for their community as it happened.”

Congratulations to all the finalists and winners!


21_James Bowie HS cover300
Bowie High School

Lone Star
Adviser Lindsey Shirack
Editors Grace Conlan & Ryan Kinney

21 Bridgeland HS cover300
Bridgeland High School

Adviser Samantha Berry
Editors Cara Hudson & Madison Gunn

21 Episcopal School of Dallas300
Episcopal School of Dallas

Adviser Ana Rosenthal
Editors Charlotte Esping & Sophia Sinacola

21 Rock Canyon HS cover300
Rock Canyon High School

Black & Gold
Adviser Kristi Rathbun
Editors Amanda Braucler, Emma Sheldon & Madeline Evans

21 Vista Ridge HS cover300
Vista Ridge High School

The Lonestar
Adviser Jamie Ray
Editors Lycia Poh & Lainey Jones


21 Katy JHS cover300
Katy Junior High School

Tiger Tracks
Adviser Candice Thomas
Editors Reagan Evans, Aubrey Elston & Lauryn Soeken

21 Peterson MS300
Peterson Middle School

The Galleon
Adviser Danielle Ash

21 Foster HS cover300-1
Foster High School

Adviser Danielle Bell
Editor Edie Peffley

21 McCallum HS 300 NEW
McCallum High School

The Knight
Advisers Dave Winter & Jena Weber
Editors Lindsey Plotkin & Hannah Zuniga

21 Memorial HS300
Memorial High School

Adviser Holly Hartman
Editors Sara Beth Rother, Megan Benz & Bailey Zhang

21 Suncoast HS cover300
Suncoast High School

Adviser Stephanie Russo
Editors Lucy De Greling & Julianna Debock

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!