NSPA names seven Balfour schools 2020 Pacemaker Winners

NSPA design winners_thumb

Congratulations to seven Balfour schools for being named 2020 Pacemaker Winners Saturday by the National Scholastic Press Association.

NSPA announced the 28 winners at a virtual awards ceremony April 10 during the 2021 JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention. The awards are for the 2020 yearbooks.

Nine Balfour yearbooks were named Pacemaker Finalists, including first-time nominees Katy Junior High School and Francis Howell North High School.

“The staff works so hard every year to produce journalism to be treasured by their peers for years,” Francis Howell North adviser Jordyn Kiel said. “This year, was especially significant because it was a year unlike any other. They truly poured their hearts into the work in a period of time that was accompanied by more challenges than they could have imagined. They grew in the process and preserved together. I could not be more proud of them.”

Nine judges selected 64 finalists for the national award, selecting yearbooks with outstanding coverage, writing, design and photography. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!


20_Bowie cover_
Bowie High School

Lone Star
Adviser Lindsey Shirack
Editors Logan Dorsey, Ryan Kinney & Emma Wake
Austin, Texas

20_Bridgeland cover_
Bridgeland High School

Cypress, Texas
Editor Makayla Nguyen
Adviser Samantha Berry

20_Hill Country cover_
Hill Country Christian School

The Bard
Austin, Texas
Editor Lauren Innis
Adviser John Horvath

20_Katy JH cover_-1
Katy Junior High School

Tiger Tracks
Katy, Texas
Editors Mamie Grace McClelland, Elyse Neves
Adviser Candice Thomas

20_Leander cover_
Leander High School

The Lair
Leander, Texas
Editors Hannah Dowding, Olivia Rutherfurd
Adviser Lindsie Alley

20_Rock Canyon cover_
Rock Canyon High School

The Black & Gold
Adviser Kristi Rathbun
Editors Kinley Rex & Emma Shea
Highlands Ranch, Colorado

20_Vista Ridge cover_
Vista Ridge High School

The Lonestar
Adviser Jamie Ray
Editor Mackenzi Steczkowski
Cedar Park, Texas


20_Francis Howell North cover_Francis Howell North High School
St. Charles, Missouri
Editor Allison Cavato
Adviser Jordyn Kiel

20_Ridgeview cover_Ridgeview Middle School
Round Rock, Texas
Editor Juliana Wassmuth
Adviser Vicki Felkel

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!