Two Balfour yearbook staffs receive 2020 collegiate Crown Awards

CSPA College Crowns_in post

Congratulations goes to the University of Miami and Texas Tech University for receiving Crown Awards today from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. The Ibis staff won a Gold Crown while the La Ventana staff won a Silver Crown.

CSPA announced the winners at the College Media Association’s spring convention in New York City, while also tweeting the results, March 13. CSPA’s executive director Edmund J. Sullivan presented plaques to winners attending the convention. Remaining awards will be mailed to publications starting April 1.

The national awards, which are for the 2019 publications, honor excellence in student journalism. In the yearbook category, the judging panel looks for overall excellence in concept, design, coverage, writing and photography.

More than 1,100 newspapers, magazines and yearbooks published during the 2018-19 school year were eligible for 2020 Crown Awards. At the collegiate level, only five yearbooks were named finalists.

The middle school and high school finalists will be announced next week via a livecast and Twitter. The annual spring convention was canceled because of coronavirus concerns.


2020 CSPA Gold Crown

19_University of MiamiIbis

University of Miami

Coral Gables, Florida

Editors Morgan Thomson & Casey Lue

Adviser Randy Stano

Balfour Representative Stephanie Sherman


2020 CSPA Silver Crown

19_Texas Tech Univ

La Ventana

Texas Tech University

Lubbock, Texas

Editor Davian Hopkins

Adviser Susan Peterson

Balfour Representative Mike Parker

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!