Rock Canyon and Episcopal School of Dallas win CSPA Gold Crowns

2021_crown_winners Header-vP

Two Balfour schools received 2021 Gold Crowns from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association Friday, March 19, 2021. Four high school yearbooks won Silver Crowns.

For the second consecutive year, CSPA announced the winners virtually. This year, they added a personal component to the ceremony. In addition to their traditional display of publication visuals, CSPA featured voices from the staffs, sharing reflections on the year and the award.

Black & Gold editors Emma Shea and Kinley Rex talked about how their theme originally was about making the best of high school. “Little did we know” the unprecedented events of the pandemic would make that theme even more relevant. The Episcopal School of Dallas, who received their first Crown award in school history, noted the difficulties of starting over with a new adviser in November, redesigning pages and finishing the book from home. Both schools received Gold Crowns, the highest honor CSPA bestows on publications.

Bowie High School, Hill Country Christian School, Memorial High School and Vista Ridge High School all received Silver Crowns. All four schools have earned Crown recognition in past years as well.

Seven Balfour schools were named 2021 Crown Finalists in December. Balfour’s collegiate finalist, North Carolina State University, was announced at the College Media Association’s virtual spring convention, March 20. The Agromeck received a Silver Crown.

The 2021 Crown Awards are for yearbooks published during the 2019-20 school year. Congratulations to all the Silver and Gold Crown Winners!


CSPA Gold Crown

20_ESD cover_Episcopal School of Dallas

Adviser Ana Rosenthal
Editors Caroline Massey, Rachel Morrow & Kate Flanagan
Dallas, Texas

20_Rock Canyon cover_-1Rock Canyon High School
Black & Gold
Adviser Kristi Rathbun
Editors Kinley Rex & Emma Shea
Highlands Ranch, Colorado

CSPA Silver Crown

20_Bowie cover_-1Bowie High School
Lone Star
Adviser Lindsey Shirack
Editors Logan Dorsey, Ryan Kinney & Emma Wake
Austin, Texas

20_Hill Country cover_-1Hill Country Christian School
The Bard
Adviser John Horvath
Editor Lauren Innis
Austin, Texas

20_Memorial cover_Memorial High School
Adviser Holly Hartman
Editors Hannah Khairandish, Ava Lahijani, Amanda Neal
Houston, Texas

20_NC State cover_ copyNorth Carolina State University

Adviser Martha Collins
Editor Julia Harrison
Raleigh, North Carolina

Sign up to get yearbook tips and best practices straight to your inbox!